Tiger Woods Accused of Cheating (But Not on Girlfriend Lindsey Vonn), Twitter Response
Tiger Woods has been accused of cheating, but the professional golfer whose private life exploded during a 2009 cheating scandal when he was married to Elin Nordegren is not accused of stepping out on new girlfriend Lindsey Vonn.
Lindsey has been spotted at the Masters watching Tiger this week, but the issue of cheating for Woods this weekend is during the play on the course at the 2013 Masters Golf Tournament in Augusta, Ga.
Here's a short version of what happened.
Tiger hit an shot that bounced off the flag stick on hole 15 on Friday and his golf ball rolled into the water.
That means he had several legal options to take a drop to set up his next shot, unfortunately he did it wrong, dropping the ball and gaining an advantage for himself.
He later signed his incorrect scorecard, and that usually means a disqualification.
But Tiger was give a reprieve and only assessed a two-stroke penalty.
Woods says he was clueless he broke the rules and responded on Twitter.
"At hole #15, I took a drop that I thought was correct and in accordance with the rules. I was unaware at that time I had violated any rules.
I didn't know I had taken an incorrect drop prior to signing my scorecard. Subsequently, I met with the Masters Committee Saturday morning…and was advised they had reviewed the incident prior to the completion of my round.
Their initial determination...was that there was no violation, but they had additional concerns based on my post-round interview.
After discussing the situation...with them this morning, I was assessed a two-shot penalty. I understand and accept the penalty and respect the Committees' decision."
In other words, Tiger could have been disqualified and would be completely out of the tournament, but he was given a save by officials at the Masters.
Some golfers think he is getting preferential treatment and answered on TV and on Twitter.
Three-time Masters champion and CBS golf analyst Nick Faldo said on Golf Channel that Woods should "man up" and withdraw.
"Tiger should really sit down and think about this and what it will leave on his legacy. Personally, I think this is dreadful. ... That was no intention to drop close to the divot."
The official version from Masters officials is that Woods was allowed to stay in the tournament due to a rule change two years ago that states a player, instead of being disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard, can be assessed penalty strokes afterward because all the facts concerning the issue were not known when the scorecard was signed.
Golfer David Duval writes on Twitter, " I think he should WD. He took a drop to gain an advantage."
Another golfer, Greg Norman writes, "It is all about the player and the integrity of the game. Woods violated the rules as he played #1 carries a greater burden. WD for the game."
Did Tiger Woods get preferential treatment on the golf course from the head muckety mucks at the Masters?
Got an opinion? Share your thoughts now.
More Hot Pics Stories
Hot Pics Photo Gallery
Click photo to enlarge.
See More Photos In The Hot Pics Photo Gallery
Leave A Comment